Type Here to Get Search Results !

WBCS Syllabus 2024

WBCS 2024 selection process comprising preliminary, mains and interview stages. Detailed exam pattern and syllabus outline for all stages 2024.

The West Bengal Civil Services (WBCS Syllabus) examination 2024 will be conducted by the West Bengal Public Service Commission (WBPSC) in three stages - Preliminary, Mains, and Personality Test.

WBCS Syllabus

WBCS Selection Process

The WBCS selection process tests candidates on general aptitude, subject knowledge, communication skills, mental ability, and personality across three phases:

  • Preliminary Exam (Objective Test)
  • Mains Exam (Objective and Conventional)
  • Personality Test (Interview)

Candidates have to clear the cut-off and qualify in all stages to be eligible for final selection to WBCS services like IAS/IPS for Group A and B, WB Police Service, Food & Supplies, etc. for Group C and D.

WBCS Syllabus Exam Pattern

The WBCS Syllabus Exam pattern varies across the three tiers in terms of type, structure, duration and marking scheme. The detailed paper-wise and stage-wise pattern is outlined below:

Tier Exam Name Type Number of Papers Maximum Marks
I Preliminary Objective MCQs 1 (General Studies) 200 marks
II Mains Objective + Conventional Essay 8 (Compulsory + Optional) 1800 marks
III Personality Test Oral Interview - 200 marks

The syllabus topics and sectional composition varies for prelims and mains exams as analyzed next.

WBCS Syllabus Prelims

The WBCS Syllabus Prelims tests candidates' awareness on subjects like General Science, History, Polity, Economy, Geography, Current Affairs and Mental Ability through 200 objective MCQs of 1 mark each:

Subject Marks No. of Questions
English Composition 25 marks 25 MCQs
General Science 25 marks 25 MCQs
National & International Current Affairs 25 marks 25 MCQs
Indian History 25 marks 25 MCQs
Geography of India and West Bengal 25 marks 25 MCQs
Indian Polity and Economy 25 marks 25 MCQs
Indian National Movement 25 marks 25 MCQs
General Mental Ability 25 marks 25 MCQs
Total 200 marks 200 MCQs

The duration is 2.5 hours. Questions are set at a graduate level covering everyday science, historical events, polity topics, etc. requiring a basic level of knowledge.

WBCS Mains Syllabus

The WBCS Syllabus mains exam tests in-depth subject knowledge through conventional descriptive essays and MCQ papers:

  1. Language Paper I (Bengali/Hindi/Urdu)
  2. English Paper II
  3. General Studies Paper I
  4. General Studies Paper II
  5. Constitution & Indian Economy
  6. Mathematics & Reasoning
  7. Optional Subject Papers (2)

The choice of languages, inclusion of optional papers, and personality test is meant for recruitment to higher posts in Group A and B state services.

There are 8 papers in total with 6 compulsory papers of 200 marks each and 400 marks for optional subject comprising 2 papers of 200 marks each. Refer to the mains syllabus table for detailed topics.

WBCS Interview

Finally, candidates who qualify the WBCS Syllabus mains exam are called for a personality test of 200 marks to assess their suitability for the state civil services.

The final selection will be based on aggregated marks obtained in the mains exam and interview stage for recruitment to various posts across Group A, B, C and D services.


The WBCS selection process provides candidates multiple opportunities through prelims, mains and interview stages. Understanding the latest exam pattern and syllabus across these stages enables strategic preparation and improves chances of clearing this highly competitive exam.


Q1: How many stages are there in WBCS selection process?

A1: There are 3 stages - Preliminary, Mains and Personality Test (Interview).

Q2: What is the total marks for WBCS Syllabus mains exam?

A2: The total marks is 1800 for WBCS Syllabus mains comprising 6 compulsory papers of 200 marks each and optional subject of 400 marks (2 x 200 marks for 2 papers).

Q3: Is there negative marking in WBCS Syllabus prelims?

A3: There is no negative marking for wrong answers in WBCS prelims exam.

Q4: How many optional subjects are there in WBCS Syllabus mains?

A4: There are 37 optional subjects that candidates can choose 1 from, consisting of 2 papers of 200 marks each.

Q5: What is the time duration of WBCS Syllabus mains exam?

A5: Each of the 8 papers in WBCS Syllabus mains exam is allotted 3 hours duration or 180 minutes.

Q6: Does WBCS  Syllabus mains have MCQ papers?

A6: Yes, WBCS mains Syllabus exam has 4 compulsory papers in objective MCQ format.


Post a Comment

* Please Don't Spam Here. All the Comments are Reviewed by Admin.

Top Post Ad header

Below Post Ad